Picks of the Week-May 17

Well hello there, Spring! The temps are getting warmer and the birds are chirping. It’s the perfect time to start listening to a fresh new find while you go exploring or do your spring cleaning. We understand that at times it could be a challenge narrowing down your next listen, so we had our acquirers narrow down some of their top picks for you.

Savage Dominion

Luke Chmilenko presents Book 1 in the Savage Dominion series.

Note: From celebrated GameLit Author Luke Chmilenko comes a new collaboration with G.D. Penman – welcome to the wild world of Amaranth – Greg Souza

Publishing Date: 5/25/2021

Written by: G.D. Penman,Luke Chmilenko

Read by : Luke Daniels

The Tolls of Uncertainty: How Privilege and the Guilt Gap Shape Unemployment in America

An indispensable investigation into the American unemployment system and the ways gender and class affect the lives of those looking for work.

Note:  A leading sociology and labor experts shows how class, race, and gender affect people’s experience of unemployment and reveals the ways men’s and women’s reactions to job loss have changed in recent decades.  This book presents an extremely eye-opening account on the differences on how job loss can affect scores of people.  A very timely subject in these uncertain times. -Scott Smith

Publishing Date: 5/25/2021

Written by:  Sarah Damaske

Read by:  Teri Schnaubelt

Conquistadors of the Useless: From the Alps to Annapurna

The story of Lionel Terray’s ground-breaking climbs told with insight and wit.

Note: Available now for the first time in audio, the English translation of the Mountaineering Classic Conquistadors of the Useless. This is the firsthand account of the life of Lionel Terray and his astonishing summits of mountains in the Andes, the Himalayas, the Alaskan Rockies and the first ascent to the peak of Annapurna, in a time when those who chose to climb became national heroes. Lyrical and insightful Conquistadors of the Useless is perfect for fans of Jon Krakauer, David Roberts, and Maurice Herzog. -Nick Pouliot

Publishing Date: 5/25/2021

Written by: Lionel Terray

Read by: Nigel Patterson

What Abigail Did That Summer

Ben Aaronovitch presents another exciting novella in the Rivers of London series.

Note: While police constable and apprentice wizard Peter Grant is away solving mysteries in the countryside, his teenaged cousin, Abigail Kamara finds her own mystery in Hampstead Heath. Teens in the area have gone missing and when they return they have no answers about their whereabouts. Filled with magic, adventure, and talking foxes, What Abigail Did That Summer is another fantastic and fun novella in The Rivers of London Series that you won’t want to miss!-Kim Budnick

Publishing Date: 05/25/2021

Written by: Ben Aaronovitch

Read by: Shvorne Marks & Kobna Holdbrook-Smith 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s