Picks of the Week-September 27

Tis’ the season for pumpkins, beautiful fall leaves, sweaters, and of course, cuddling up with a great audiobook…

We understand that at times it could be a challenge narrowing down your next listen, so we had our acquirers narrow down a few of their top picks for you.

Klondikers:  Dawson City’s Stanley Cup Challenge and How a Nation Fell in Love with Hockey

Join a ragtag group of misfits from Dawson City as they scrap to become the 1905 Stanley Cup champions and cement hockey as Canada’s national pastime.

Note:  Get ready for the upcoming hockey season with a look back at when hockey first truly became Canada’s national pastime.  Follow along as a group of misfits from The Yukon Territory travel (for almost 25 days!) to Ottawa to take on the favored Ottawa Silver Sevens.  All against a backdrop of Canada embracing modernization as it enters the 20th century.  Sure to appeal to any fan of hockey, characters, or Canada!- Dan Totten

Publishing Date:  10/5/2021

Written by:  Tim Falconer

Read by:  Matthew Josdal

Sankofa

Girl, Woman, Other meets An American Marriage in this gripping story of a mixed-race woman who goes in search of the African father she never knew, by a prize-winning writer who “brilliantly captures the essence of a people and a place” (Nicole Dennis-Benn).

Note: When Anna’s mother dies, and with her marriage ending and her only child constantly on the move, Anna comes to meet someone through the pages of a diary long hidden – her father. Sankofa is an example of the perfect audiobook with writing and narration that complement each other beautifully. A must listen! – Jenn Eschrich

Publishing Date: 10/5/21

Written by: Chibundu Onuzo

Read by: Sara Powell

The Original Glitch

A must-listen sci-fi novel from Melanie Moyer.

Note: When a sentient AI creation escapes the deceased Dr. Kent’s lab to terrorize the world, grad student Adler must save humanity with the help of his friend Laura before it’s too late. Fans of Annalee Newitz and Becky Chambers will enjoy this heartfelt sci-fi adventure.- Sonia Brand-Fisher

Publishing Date: 10/5/21

Written by: Melanie Moyer

Read by: Emily Ellet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s