Tag Archives: June Picks

Picks of the Week-June 1

Summer is right around the corner! It’s the perfect time to start listening to a fresh new find while you go exploring or do your spring cleaning. We understand that at times it could be a challenge narrowing down your next listen, so we had our acquirers narrow down some of their top picks for you.

Valkyrie: The Women of the Viking World

Drawing on the latest historical and archaeological evidence, Valkyrie introduces listeners to the dramatic and fascinating texts recorded in medieval Iceland, a culture able to imagine women in all kinds of roles carrying power, not just in this world, but pulling the strings in the other-world, too.

Note: Anyone who’s ever been intrigued by mythology will enjoy Friðriksdóttir’s exploration of the Valkyries. The author also peels away the layers of myth and legend to paint a realistic picture of what daily live would have looked like for Viking women, from birth until death. –Lindsey Wood

Publishing Date: 6/1/21

Written by: Jóhanna Katrín Friðriksdóttir

Read by: Ann Richardson

Son of a Milkman: My Crazy Life with Tesla

Tesla’s Brian Wheat lifts the lid on living the rock ‘n’ roll life while struggling with anxiety, depression, and other issues seldom discussed by musicians.

Note: A deeply fascinating memoir from the bassist and co-founder of the rock band Tesla, Brian Wheat takes listeners through the ups and downs of the rock and roll lifestyle, and reveals the hidden mental health struggles he faced while playing in front of thousands and collaborating with some of the biggest names in the music industry. -Scott Smith

Publishing Date: 6/1/2021

Written by: Brian Wheat, with Chris Epting

Read by: Brian Wheat

A Place to Bury Strangers

Mark Dawson presents Book 2 in the Atticus Priest series.

Note: Atticus Priest, my new favorite anti-hero, returns to lend his skills to the local police while also taking on his own case as a private investigator, but maybe the cases aren’t as separate as they first appear.  Perfect for fans of Lee Child and David Baldacci. -Jenn Eschrich

Publishing Date: 6/1/21

Written by: Mark Dawson

Read by: Simon Vance

Lunar Bound

Emerson Knight and McKenzie Hunter present Book 4 in the Sky Brooks World: Ethan series.

Note: Time to get a second dose of Lunar Marked, but this time from Ethan’s perspective. With additional content, this story will give fans of the Sky Brooks series even more to love.- Kara Stebbins

Publishing Date: 6/8/2021

Written by: McKenzie Hunter & Emerson Knight

Read by: James Patrick Cronin