Picks of the Week- August 10

It is the “Dog Days of Summer” what better way to cool off than with a good book. We understand that at times it could be a challenge narrowing down your next listen, but don’t worry. Our acquirers have selected some of their top picks for you.

 

Hunted

Erica Woods presents Book 1 in the Feral Souls Trilogy. Contains mature themes.

Note: For fans of Stacey Brutger and Jaymin Eve, this new paranormal series takes us on an exciting new adventure filled with action, adventure, and romance. -Kristen Hummel

Publishing date: 8/15/2020

Written by Erica Woods

Narrated by Isabelle Ruther and Aiden Snow

 

Skimmed: Breastfeeding, Race, and Injustice

In Skimmed, Andrea Freeman tells the riveting story of the Fultz quadruplets while uncovering how feeding America’s youngest citizens is awash in social, legal, and cultural inequalities.

Note: Andrea Freeman tells the story of the Fultz quadruplets and the baby formula company that exploited them for profit. Skimmed highlights the making of a modern public health crisis, the four extraordinary girls whose stories encapsulate a nationwide injustice, and how we can fight for a healthier future. -Molly Miller

Publishing date: 8/18/2020

Written by Andrea Freeman

Narrated by Randye Kaye

The Naked Roommate: And 107 Other Issues You Might Run Into in College

Hilarious, outrageous, and telling stories from students on over 100 college campuses cover the basics, and then some, including topics on college living; finding people, places, and patience; classes; dating; the party scene; and money.

Note: Ranked the #1 go-to guide for going to college, this New York Times bestseller covers everything you ever wanted to know about life on campus. From academics to social life to stress management and everything in between, The Naked Roommate has you covered. -Sonia Brand-Fisher

Publishing date: 8/18/2020

Written by Harlan Cohen

Narrated by Brian Holden

 

The Coma

Having been attacked on the Underground, a man wakes up in a hospital and begins to question his emergence from a coma in this dark psychological drama.

Note: If you want to be transported away take a trip into this dreamy and eerie book by the director of Ex-Machina and screenwriter of 28 Days Later. -Dan Totten

Publishing date: 8/18/2020

Written by Alex Garland

Narrated by Shaun Grindell

 

The Crank Palace

James Dashner presents a new novella in the Maze Runner series.

Note: In Dashner’s latest installment in the Maze Runner series, which runs concurrent to the latter part of The Death Cure, we finally get a closer look into everyone’s favorite character – Newt. -Jenn Eschrich

Publishing date: 8/25/2020

Written by James Dashner

Narrated by Mark Deakins

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s