Tag Archives: Best Picks

Picks of the Week-October 26

Happy fall everyone! Let’s celebrate with discovering new audiobooks. We understand that at times it could be a challenge narrowing down your next listen, but don’t worry. Our acquirers have selected some of their top picks for you.

Healing Resistance

Activists and change agents, restorative justice practitioners, faith leaders, and anybody engaged in social progress and shifting society will find this mindful approach to nonviolent action indispensable.

Note: Following in the tradition of Martin Luther King, Kazu Haga provides an accessible guide for confronting injustice and implementing change through nonviolence.- Aaron Piccirillo

Publishing Date : 10/27/20

Written by: Kazu Haga

Read by: Tom Parks

Brothersong

TJ Klune presents Book 4 in the Green Creek series. Contains mature themes.

Note: Get ready for TJ’s newest installment in the Green Creek series, Brothersong! Carter sets out, leaving his family and pack behind, in pursuit of Gavin. The truth is more important, despite the danger it holds. You won’t be able to put down this book about how the sins of fathers pass down to their sons, and the rattling impact they hold. -Kelly Srubas

Publishing Date: 10/27/20

Written by: TJ Klune

Read by: Kirt Graves

A Touch of Ruin

Scarlett St. Clair presents Book 2 in the Hades and Persephone series. Contains mature themes.

Note: Now that Persephone’s relationship with Hades has gone public, everything seems to go wrong. Persephone finds herself alone to deal with the fallout of a tragedy and makes a deal she may soon regret. Will her secret as the Goddess of Spring be exposed? Will Hades’ past evil deeds come to light? Can Persephone ever become Hades’ queen, or will she lose everything? In this second book of the Hades & Persephone saga, Scarlett St. Clair delivers thrilling mystery, betrayal, and more steamy romance.  -Kim Budnick

Publishing Date: 10/27/2020

Written by: Scarlett St. Clair

Read by: by Meg Sylvan

Let Them Eat Pancakes

For all those who love stories of adventure, delicious food, and overcoming the odds, Let Them Eat Pancakes will satisfy your appetite and leave you wanting even more.

Note: Escape to Paris with New York Times bestselling author Craig Carlson’s indulgent new memoir. Hitting notes both thought-provoking and comical, Carlson’s follow-up to Pancakes in Paris is not to be missed.-Kara Boucher

Publishing Date: 10/27/2020

Written by: Craig Carlson

Read by: Tim Campbell

Picks of the Week-Sept 7

Can you believe it’s already almost fall? We can’t, but we do believe that there are endless audiobooks still to explore. We understand that at times it could be a challenge narrowing down your next listen, but don’t worry. Our acquirers have selected some of their top picks for you.

Cursed Objects: Strange but True Stories of the World’s Most Infamous Items

These strange but true stories of the world’s most infamous items will appeal to true believers as well as history buffs, horror fans, and anyone who loves a good spine-tingling tale.

Note: It’s never too early for Halloween! Get in the mood for the season by learning the spooky history of some of the most famous supposedly cursed items in history. You might have to leave the lights on, especially if there is a creepy doll around. -Dan Totten

Publishing Date: 9/15/2020

Written by: J.W. Ocker

Narrated by: Tim Campbell

 

Great Adaptations: Star-Nosed Moles, Electric Eels, and Other Tales of Evolution’s Mysteries Solved

In Great Adaptations, Kenneth Catania presents an entertaining and engaging look at some of nature’s most remarkable creatures.

Note: A down to earth and delightful look at some of the strange creatures that inhabit the earth and how some of their unusual traits have evolved.  -Scott Smith

Publishing Date: 9/15/2020

Written by: Kenneth Catania

Narrated by: Chris Sorensen

The Family Garden Plan

Melissa K. Norris, fifth-generation homesteader and host of the popular Pioneering Today podcast, explains how to plant a garden that will yield healthy, wholesome food throughout the year.

Note: The lessons presented here about the value of growing your own food are more timely than ever! Learn how to plan your garden space and start to follow a more sustainable lifestyle. From beginners to the more experienced gardener, this book is a great source for everyone. -Lindsey Wood

Publishing Date: 9/15/2020

Written by: Melissa K. Norris

Narrated by: Chelsea Stephens

There Goes Sunday School

There Goes Sunday School is a relevant and poignant story about two boys’ first real love in a conservative Christian community.

Note: Mike, a closeted high schooler, tries to blend in with the rest of his religious community. But when the pastor’s son discovers his secret, an unexpected romance begins. Fans of Love, Simon will love this novel! -Maddy Collins

Publishing Date: 9/15/2020

Written by: Alexander C. Eberhart

Narrated by: Joel Leslie

Picks of the Week- August 10

It is the “Dog Days of Summer” what better way to cool off than with a good book. We understand that at times it could be a challenge narrowing down your next listen, but don’t worry. Our acquirers have selected some of their top picks for you.

 

Hunted

Erica Woods presents Book 1 in the Feral Souls Trilogy. Contains mature themes.

Note: For fans of Stacey Brutger and Jaymin Eve, this new paranormal series takes us on an exciting new adventure filled with action, adventure, and romance. -Kristen Hummel

Publishing date: 8/15/2020

Written by Erica Woods

Narrated by Isabelle Ruther and Aiden Snow

 

Skimmed: Breastfeeding, Race, and Injustice

In Skimmed, Andrea Freeman tells the riveting story of the Fultz quadruplets while uncovering how feeding America’s youngest citizens is awash in social, legal, and cultural inequalities.

Note: Andrea Freeman tells the story of the Fultz quadruplets and the baby formula company that exploited them for profit. Skimmed highlights the making of a modern public health crisis, the four extraordinary girls whose stories encapsulate a nationwide injustice, and how we can fight for a healthier future. -Molly Miller

Publishing date: 8/18/2020

Written by Andrea Freeman

Narrated by Randye Kaye

The Naked Roommate: And 107 Other Issues You Might Run Into in College

Hilarious, outrageous, and telling stories from students on over 100 college campuses cover the basics, and then some, including topics on college living; finding people, places, and patience; classes; dating; the party scene; and money.

Note: Ranked the #1 go-to guide for going to college, this New York Times bestseller covers everything you ever wanted to know about life on campus. From academics to social life to stress management and everything in between, The Naked Roommate has you covered. -Sonia Brand-Fisher

Publishing date: 8/18/2020

Written by Harlan Cohen

Narrated by Brian Holden

 

The Coma

Having been attacked on the Underground, a man wakes up in a hospital and begins to question his emergence from a coma in this dark psychological drama.

Note: If you want to be transported away take a trip into this dreamy and eerie book by the director of Ex-Machina and screenwriter of 28 Days Later. -Dan Totten

Publishing date: 8/18/2020

Written by Alex Garland

Narrated by Shaun Grindell

 

The Crank Palace

James Dashner presents a new novella in the Maze Runner series.

Note: In Dashner’s latest installment in the Maze Runner series, which runs concurrent to the latter part of The Death Cure, we finally get a closer look into everyone’s favorite character – Newt. -Jenn Eschrich

Publishing date: 8/25/2020

Written by James Dashner

Narrated by Mark Deakins