Picks of the Week-January 18

Happy New Year! It is the month of resolutions, and we hope one of them is to listen to more audiobooks! We understand that at times it could be a challenge narrowing down your next listen, so we had our acquirers narrow down some of their top picks for you.

Her Deepest Fear

Kelly Utt presents Book 1 in the Rosemary Run series. Contains mature themes.

Note: For fans of Shari Lapena and Shalini Boland, this first in a series by Kelly Utt will have you on the edge of your seat to the very last ‘page’ — but don’t worry, books 2 and 3 release in February!  -Jenn Eschrich

Publishing Date: 1/19/21

Written by: Kelly Utt

Read by: Chelsea Stephens

Sonic Boom: The Impossible Rise of Warner Bros. Records, From Hendrix to Fleetwood Mac to Madonna to Prince

From journalist Peter Ames Carlin Sonic Boom captures the rollicking story of the most successful record label in the history of rock and roll, Warner Bros Records, and the remarkable secret to its meteoric rise.

Note:  Peter Ames Carlin takes you on the ride through the history of one of the most iconic record labels in American music history.  If you like music at all there is no doubt a story in here about a musician or song you love! -Dan Totten

Publishing Date:  1/19/2021

Written by:  Peter Ames Carling

Read by:  David de Vries

Playing with Fire

When a fire cuts off a popular trail in the Oregon forest, a small group trapped by the flames must find another way out—or die—in Playing with Fire, an unrelenting teen-vs-nature YA thriller by New York Times bestselling author April Henry.

Note: New York Times bestselling author April Henry is back with her latest thriller! When a wildfire breaks out in the forest, Natalia and her friends are stuck with no way out. Forced to confront her past while teaming up with strangers to stay alive, Natalia will have to take matters into her own hands. -Kelly Srubas

Publishing Date: 1/19/21

Written by: April Henry

Read by: Amy McFadden

Roots of Yoga

Roots of Yoga provides a comprehensive and immediate insight into the essential texts of the Indian traditions of yoga.

Note: Yoga as we know it has evolved from its beginnings as a diverse set of South Asian physical, mental, and spiritual disciplines to a global health industry worth over $80 billion. James Mallinson and Mark Singleton’s ROOTS OF YOGA takes you back as early as 500 BCE to examine the foundational texts and philosophies that gave rise to the development of Buddhist, Hindu, and Jaina yoga traditions. Whether you’re new to the practice or an experienced yogi, this enlightening text will enrich and deepen your connection to these ancient teachings. -Sonia Brand-Fisher

Publishing Date: 1/26/2021

Written by: James Mallinson and Mark Singleton

Read by: Julian Elfer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s