Bridgerton Listen-Alikes: Swoon-Worthy Historical Romances on Audio

Have you finished binge-watching Bridgerton on Netflix and don’t know what to pick up next? We have rounded up some historical romances that are perfect for fans of Daphne and Simon’s whirlwind love story.

A Duke, the Lady, and a Baby by Vanessa Riley, narrated by Bahni Turpin

Book description:

Created by a shrewd countess, The Widow’s Grace is a secret society with a mission: to help ill-treated widows regain their status, their families, and even find true love again—or perhaps for the very first time . . .

Why it’s perfect for fans of Bridgerton:

Much like the Netflix drama, the first installment in Riley’s Rogues and Remarkable Women series features a multiracial cast of characters. Riley’s regency romance tells the story of Patience Jordan, a West Indian heiress, who falls for a wounded military hero. Listeners will find themselves charmed by this tale that proves everyone deserves a happily-ever-after.

The Surrender of Miss Fairbourne by Madeline Hunter, narrated by Alison Larkin

Book description:

As reluctant business partners, Emma Fairbourne’s defiance and Darius Alfreton’s demands make it difficult to manage one of London’s most eminent auction houses. But their passionate personalities find common ground in an unforgettable affair—until the devastating truth behind their partnership comes to light.

Why it’s perfect for fans of Bridgerton:

Bridgerton boasts a stellar cast of characters that infuse the series with humor and fun. The Surrender of Miss Fairbourne shines not only because of the relationship between the two protagonists, but also because of its enchanting secondary characters.  Hunter’s title received praise from Booklist, who gave it a starred review and complimented its “striking cast of characters,” and Library Journal who referred to the cast as “magnetic.”

The Autumn Bride by Anne Gracie, narrated by Alison Larkin

Book description:

Award-winning author Anne Gracie presents the first book in a new series about four young women on the verge of destitution—until a daring act changes their fortune and transforms each of them into a glowing bride . . .

Why it’s perfect for fans of Bridgerton:

Bridgerton stands out because of its strong female characters. The Autumn Bride also focuses on inspiring women with the Chance sisters who are determined to create a better life for themselves despite their standing in society during the regency era. Listeners will love seeing these passionate women support each other in life and in romance.

Suddenly You by Lisa Kleypas, narrated by Beverley A. Crick

Book description:

She was unmarried, untouched, and almost thirty, but novelist Amanda Briars wasn’t about to greet her next birthday without making love to a man. When he appeared at her door, she believed he was her gift to herself, hired for one night of passion. Unforgettably handsome, irresistibly virile, he tempted her in ways she never thought possible . . . but something stopped him from completely fulfilling her dream.

Why it’s perfect for fans of Bridgerton:

Admirers of the handsome and mysterious Duke of Hastings will find themselves drawn to Jack Delvin, the male lead in Kleypas’ standalone romance. Much like Simon Bassett, Jack is a tortured hero. Publishers Weekly describes him as a man who “truly shines as he struggles to overcome his dark past.”

Simply Unforgettable by Mary Balogh, narrated by Rosalyn Landor

Book description:

New York Times bestselling author Mary Balogh returns to the seductive world she knows so well—Regency England—in a new novel filled with her trademark wit, sensuality, and breathtaking storytelling. 

Why it’s perfect for fans of Bridgerton:

If you loved Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton novels on audio as much as the Netflix series, this one is for you! The narrator of Quinn’s series, AudioFile Earphones Award-winner Rosalyn Landor, also narrates this spicy romance from Balogh. AudioGals’ blog praises her narration as “simply wonderful.”

Discover even more steamy historical romances:

  • The Social Tutor by Sally Britton, narrated by Rachael Beresford
  • Band Sinister by KJ Charles, narrated by Cornell Collins
  • Duke of Knight by Elizabeth Johns, narrated by Alex Wyndham
  • Notorious by Minerva Spencer, narrated by Heather Wilds
  • A Duel in Meryton by Renata McMann and Summer Hanford, narrated by Ruth Urquhart
  • The Madness of Viscount Atherbourne by Elisa Braden, narrated by Mary Sarah
  • The Elusive Miss Ellison by Carolyn Miller, narrated by Anna Parker-Naples
  • My Lady Notorious by Jo Beverley, narrated by Alison Larkin
  • Caught by Christina J. Michaels, narrated by Justine Eyre
  • Love in the Bargain by Kasey Stockton, narrated by Mary Sarah
  • A Beginner’s Guide to Rakes by Suzanne Enoch, narrated by Anne Flosnik
  • What the Duke Desires by Sabrina Jeffries, narrated by Corrie James
  • What to Do With a Duke by Sally MacKenzie, narrated by Beverley A. Crick
  • Wicked Designs by Lauren Smith, narrated by Heather Wilds
  • Guilty Pleasures by Laura Lee Guhrke, narrated by Anne Flosnik

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s