Picks of the Week-February 15

We hope that you’ve all kept your resolutions to read or listen to more books! We understand that at times it could be a challenge narrowing down your next listen, so we had our acquirers narrow down some of their top picks for you.

Soar, Adam, Soar

From early childhood, through coming out first as a lesbian and then as a man, and his battles with epilepsy and refusal to give in, Soar, Adam, Soar chronicles Adam Prashaw’s drive to define himself, his joyful spirit, and his love of life, which continues to conquer all.

Note: Along with his son’s own words, former priest, Rick Prashaw, lovingly retells his son’s story of coming out as a lesbian, then as a man, all while struggling with epilepsy. Read by John Dickhout, recipient and “caretaker of Adam’s heart” Soar, Adam, Soar, pays tribute to Adam’s life and the joy he brought to everything and everyone around him. -Kim Budnick

Publishing Date: 2/16/2021     

Written by: Rick Prashaw

Read by: John Dickhout

                                                                                                                                  

Spin with Me

From the author of the critically acclaimed Gracefully Grayson comes a thoughtful and sensitive middle-grade novel about non-binary identity and first love, Ami Polonsky’s Spin with Me.

Note: From the author of the critically acclaimed Gracefully Grayson, Ami’s newest book tackles falling in love for the first time. When Essie meets Ollie, a non-binary student at her new school, she starts realizing that moving might not be too bad. This sweet and enchanting novel is a must-read! -Kelly Srubas

Publishing Date: 2/16/21

Written by: Ami Polonsky

Read by: Amanda Dolan

In Defense of Plants

In his debut book, internationally recognized blogger and podcaster Matt Candeias celebrates the nature of plants and the extraordinary world of plant organisms.

Note: A fascinating exploration of the lives of plants, written by an expert on the subject. For fans of Michael Pollan, David Attenborough, or Peter Wohlleben. -Aaron Piccirillo

Publishing Date: 2/16/21

Written by: Matt Candeias

Read by: Matthew Boston

The Bitterwine Oath

Every fifty years, a cult claims twelve men to murder in a small Texas town. Can one girl end the cycle of violence—and save the boy who broke her heart?

Note: For fans of Shea Ernshaw and Kara Thomas comes a tale of magic, murder, and vengeance. Every twelve years in San Solano, Texas twelve men are marked to die, can Nat save them and clear her great-great-grandmother’s name? -Ashley Fortier

Publishing Date: 2/16/21

Written by: Hannah West

Read by: Reba Buhr

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s