Picks of the Week -May 3

Well hello there, Spring! The temps are getting warmer and the birds are chirping. It’s the perfect time to start listening to a fresh new find while you go exploring or do your spring cleaning. We understand that at times it could be a challenge narrowing down your next listen, so we had our acquirers narrow down some of their top picks for you.

Ember of Night

Molly E. Lee presents Book 1 in the Bloodlines series.

Note: All Harley wants is to give her little sister, Ray, a better life and is counting down the days until she turns eighteen to do just that. But of course, nothing goes as planned. Days before her birthday, hot and cold Draven comes hurtling into Harley’s life. Once she meets Draven, strange things start happening to Harley–like getting attacked by demons, and she knows he is hiding something. There’s more than meets the eye is this thrilling supernatural story, and you don’t want to miss the twists and turns Molly throws in! -Kelly Srubas

Publishing Date: 5/4/21

Written by: Molly E. Lee

Read by: Chris Chambers and Stephanie Rose

Jacobo’s Rainbow

Jacobo’s Rainbow is a historical literary novel set primarily in the 1960s during the convulsive period of the student protest movements and the Vietnam War. It focuses on the issue of being an outsider—the “other”—an altogether common circumstance that resonates with listeners in today’s America. Written from a Jewish perspective, it speaks to universal truths that affect us all.

Note: Written from a Jewish perspective, this historical novel, set in the 1960s during the Vietnam War focuses on the issues of being an outsider. Jacobo is arrested and sent to jail, he is allowed to leave, if and only if, he joins in the war, and fights in Vietnam. After the war, Jacobo’s is back home and notices that America is not the same as it was before he left. For fans of Olivia Hawker and Talia Carner, you don’t want to miss David’s newest book, Jacobo’s Rainbow, out now.- Jordan Spellman

Publishing Date: 5/4/2021

Written by: David Hirschberg

Read by: Neil Hellegers

The Murders That Made Us

The 170-year history of the San Francisco Bay Area told through its crimes and how they intertwine with the city’s art, music, and politics.

Note:  The history of San Francisco through its crimes, both infamous and obscure.  Calhoun and Sellon-Wright take us on a fascinating journey to show how crime in San Francisco has always been intwined with and molded the city’s art and politics.  Perfect for fans of true crime and anyone looking to learn more about one of America’s most interesting cities. -Dan Totten

Publishing Date:  5/4/2021

Written by:  Bob Calhoun

Read by:  Keith Sellon-Wright

The Newton Code

In a tunnel under the Temple Mount in Jerusalem, Michael, a teacher of investigative journalism, has to confront a powerful opponent. Will he succeed in his race against time? Will he prevail in his attempt to stop Armageddon?

Note: For fans of Dan Brown and Raymond Khoury, this mysterious historic thriller will leave you on the edge of you seat!- Kristen Hummel

Publishing Date: 5/4/2021

Written by: Liam Fialkov

Read by: Jennifer Jill Araya

Secret on the Fens

Joy Ellis presents Book 12 in the DI Nikki Galena series.

Note: My favorite series of the last five years – these binge-worthy listens will have you on the edge of your seat waiting for your friends Nikki and Joseph to return with the next installment. -Jenn Eschrich

Publishing Date: 5/4/21

Written by: Joy Ellis

Read by: Henrietta Meire

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s