Picks of the Week- June 7

Summer is right around the corner! It’s the perfect time to start listening to a fresh new find while you go exploring or do your spring cleaning. We understand that at times it could be a challenge narrowing down your next listen, so we had our acquirers narrow down some of their top picks for you.

Heat Wave: A Social Autopsy of Disaster in Chicago

In Heat Wave, Eric Klinenberg takes us inside the anatomy of the metropolis to conduct what he calls a “social autopsy,” examining the social, political, and institutional organs of the city that made this urban disaster so much worse than it ought to have been.

Note: Eric Klinenberg’s Heat Wave examines the historical Chicago heat wave that burned with temperatures above 100 degrees for a week in July of 1995. The heat wave buckled city streets, collapsed the city’s power grid leaving many without power for two days and left 700 residents dead, most of them elderly people, who died isolated and alone.  Using the heat wave as a paradigm Klinenberg exposes the culpability of a strained and aging city infrastructure and growing climate change concerns which continue to threaten America’s cities today yet are still largely ignored. More than a just a book about weather Heat Wave investigates the social structure of a city that could allow such a disaster to take place and offers a warning that status quo policies of relief over prevention will only lead to more tragedies like this. -Nicholas Pouliot

Publishing Date: 06/08/2021

Written by: Eric Klinenberg

Read by: Michael Butler Murray

Afterlife: Ghostland 2.0

Duncan Ralston presents Book 2 in the Ghostland Trilogy.

Note: Author Duncan Ralston presents Afterlife: Ghostland 2.0, book 2 of his thrilling Ghostland Trilogy series! Set six months after the events of Ghostland, protagonists Lilian Roth and Ben Laramie band together yet again to protect the public from a hostile army of ghouls. This is absolutely a series for any horror fans looking for adventure and terror to keep an eye on! -Desiree Lynch

Publishing Date: 6/8/2021

Written by: Duncan Ralston

Read by: Joe Hempel

Raven’s Castle

Andrey Vasilyev presents Book 1 in the Raven Disciples series.

Note: For fans of Luke Chmilenko and Kirill Klevanski, this exciting new book by Andrey Vasilyev will take you on a fantastical voyage filled with magic and intrigue.- Kristen Hummel

Publishing Date: 6/15/2021

Written by: Andrey Vasilyev

Read by: James Fouhey

The Slaughtered Lamb Bookstore and Bar

Seana Kelly presents Book 1 in the Sam Quinn series. Contains mature themes.

Note: The Slaughtered Lamb Bookstore and Bar will drag you in and make you not want to stop listening! You will quickly become invested in Sam and her mysterious past. This story has every supernatural creature you could want make an appearance. Seana Kelly does an amazing job building this supernatural world. This is a must listen for any supernatural romance fan! -Jannah McCowan

Publishing Date: 6/15/21

Written by: Seana Kelly

Read by: Samantha Desz

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s