Picks of the Week-June 28

Summer is here! That means plenty of hours sitting pool and beachside, road trips, and of course, audiobooks! We understand that at times it could be a challenge narrowing down your next listen, so we had our acquirers narrow down some of their top picks for you.

The Suffragette’s Daughter

Michelle Salter presents Book 1 in the Iris Woodmore Mysteries.

Note: Fans of Anna Lee Huber and Downton Abbey will enjoy this engrossing historical crime mystery, and the first in the Iris Woodmore series. Iris is a journalist whose mother died tragically while fighting for women’s suffrage, though we soon find out that the circumstances surrounding her mother’s death are cause for great suspicion. Can Iris crack the case of her mother’s mysterious demise, or will the secrets lingering at her ancestral home reveal truths that were better left buried? -Sonia Brand-Fisher

Publishing Date: 7/6/2021

Written by: Michelle Salter

Read by: Louise Williams

Blue: In Search of Nature’s Rarest Color

A globe-trotting quest to find blue in the natural world—and to understand our collective obsession with this bewitching color.

Note: In this fascinating exploration around the world journalist, Kai Kupferschmidt, explores laboratories, volcanic lakes, deep underground, and miles overhead to find the rarest naturally occurring color on the planet: Blue. -Kim Budnick

Publishing Date: 7/6/2021

Written by: Kai Kupferschmidt

Read by: Jonathan Yen

Daughter of No Worlds 

Carissa Broadbent presents Book 1 in the War of Lost Hearts series. Contains mature themes.

Note: For fans of Sarah J. Maas, follow Tisaanah’s journey in the first book in this new exciting epic fantasy series from Carissa Broadbent that will get your pulse pounding and have you on the edge of you seat. -Kristen Hummel

Publishing Date: 7/20/2021

Written by: Carissa Broadbent

Read by: Dan Calley and Esther Wane

Golden Boy

New York Times bestselling author John Glatt tells the true story of Thomas Gilbert Jr., the disturbed young man accused of murdering his father, a Manhattan millionaire and hedge fund founder.

Note: True crime lovers are sure to devour Glatt’s newest book confronting how mental illness brought a wealthy “golden” boy into a spiral of violence and murder. -Kara Stebbins

Publishing Date: 7/20/2021

Written by: John Glatt

Read by: Shaun Grindell

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s