Picks of the Week-June 21

Summer is here! That means plenty of hours sitting pool and beachside, road trips, and of course, audiobooks! We understand that at times it could be a challenge narrowing down your next listen, so we had our acquirers narrow down some of their top picks for you.

Wraithblade

S. M. Boyce presents Book 1 in the Wraithblade series.

Note: From veteran epic fantasy author, S.M. Boyce, comes a new series perfect for fans of Bryce O’Connor.- Greg Souza

Written by: S.M. Boyce

Read by: Wayne Mitchell

Publishing Date: 6/15/2021

The Ones We’re Meant to Find

Perfect for fans of Rick Yancey and Marie Lu, The Ones We’re Meant to Find is a sci-fi fantasy with mind-blowing twists, ready to burst onto the YA scene, from the critically-acclaimed Descendant of the Crane author, Joan He.

Note: In this instant New York Times Bestseller, two sisters are separated in a climate-ravaged world and fight to find one another. Cee’s memories have disappeared, well all but the fact that she has a sister, and is determined to get off the abandoned island she found herself on and cross the ocean to find her. Kasey is a STEM prodigy who is helping save the world from climate decay, but something keeps nagging at her to find her sister. If you’re a fan of Marie Lu’s Warrior Crossed, you will love this epic sci-fi! -Kelly Srubas

Publishing Date: 6/22/21

Author: Joan He

Narrator: Nancy Wu

The Uncensored Picture of Dorian Gray

Note: This version of The Picture of Dorian Gray most closely reflects what Wilde initially intended, before his editors altered sections deemed immoral or offensive. Tantor’s production marks the first time this version of the classic text will be heard in audio. Narrated by two-time Audie Award winner Edoardo Ballerini, of The Sopranos, 24, and Boardwalk Empire fame. -Aaron Piccirillo

Publishing Date: 6/22/21

Written by: Oscar Wilde

Read by: Edoardo Ballerini

Beat Breast Cancer Like A Boss

Edie Falco, Sheryl Crow, Athena Jones, Heidi Heitkamp, and an inspiring array of other breast cancer survivors and “previvors” lend their voices to this collection of powerful stories.

Note: Award-winning journalist, Ali, brings together amazing stories by strong women about their experiences with a cancer diagnosis. Stories from Sheryl Crow, Athena Jones, Jadyn Smith and many more, talk about their diagnoses, how they told loved ones, treatment options and their work/life/cancer balance. These stories are personal to Ali; when she test positive for the BRCA1 genetic mutation at age twenty and decided to undergo a prophylactic bilateral mastectomy before even graduating college. Ali does a beautiful job compiling and editing others stories while also including her own story, you don’t want to miss Beat Breast Cancer Like A Boss. -Jordan Spellman

Publishing Date: 6/22/2021

Written by: Ali Rogin

Read by: Raechel Wong

 

Wild Souls:  Freedom and Flourishing in the Non-Human World

From an acclaimed environmental writer, a groundbreaking and provocative new vision for our relationships with—and responsibilities toward—the planet’s wild animals.

Note:  From the author of Rambunctious Garden comes a new book that looks at how humans and non-humans can co-exist in a world whose wilds are rapidly disappearing.  Tackling tough philosophical and scientific questions, this book will be sure to get you thinking about our place in this world and our responsibilities to its other inhabitants. -Dan Totten

Publishing Date:  6/29/2021

Written by:  Emma Marris

Read by:  Amy Landon

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s