Picks of the Week-December 27

We don’t know about you, but it’s cold out here and all we can think of is curling up next to a cozy fire with a great audiobook.

We understand that at times it could be a challenge narrowing down your next listen, so we had our acquirers narrow down a few of their top picks for you.

A Question of Freedom: The Families Who Challenged Slavery from the Nation’s Founding to the Civil War

A Question of Freedom tells the story of the longest and most complex legal challenge to slavery in American history.

Note: In this critically acclaimed winner of the Mark Lynton Prize in History and the SHEAR Best Book prize, listeners learn the history of the “freedom suit,” where enslaved individuals could file lawsuits against slaveholders to claim their freedom. This thoroughly researched account vividly brings to life the efforts of five generations of enslaved families in Prince George’s County, Maryland, whose fight brought them up against a powerful assembly of slaveholders, as well as the Supreme Court. – Sonia Brand-Fisher

Publishing Date: 12/14/2021

Written by: William G. Thomas III

Read by: David Sadzin

Under A Falling Star

A must-listen romance. Contains mature themes.

Note: Perfect for those who love both romance and Christmas, you don’t want to miss this office romance by Jae. Austen is an employee at an international games company and her first job is to decorate the Christmas tree in the lobby. While doing this, Austen’s boss gets hit in the head by the tree topper and she takes her to the ER. Dee has an instant attraction towards Austen but she does not know that Austen is technically her employee. -Jordan Spellman

Publishing Date: 12/21/21       

Written by: Jae

Read by: Abby Craden

Unchained: The Eddie Van Halen Story

The first full-length biography of Eddie Van Halen—a searching, affectionate, and in-depth look at the remarkable life of a genuine musical virtuoso who changed the course of rock ‘n’ roll.

Note: The first full-length biography of Eddie Van Halen—a searching, affectionate, and in-depth look at the remarkable life of a genuine musical virtuoso who changed the course of rock ’n’ roll.  Brannigan goes in-depth to explore the highs and lows of the Eddie Van Halen story.  A must-listen for any music fan! – Scott Smith

Publishing Date: 12/28/2021

Written by: Paul Brannigan

Read by: Mike Lenz

Black Cowboys of the Old West

A long overdue testament to the courage and skill of black cowboys, Black Cowboys of the Old West finally gives these courageous men their rightful place in history.

Note: There’s a lot of American history that, while not hidden, is not widely known. That so many cowboys of the Old West were actually Black could be a surprise to many; Hollywood (and history books) has always shown us a white majority presentation of cowboys, yet one-fourth of their number were Black. Jesse Stahl, Nat Love, and Charley Willis are just a few of the cowboys that we should know more about, and Tricia Martineau Wagner handily provides a strong introduction here. – Lindsey Wood

Publishing Date: 12/28/2021

Written by: Tricia Martineau Wagner

Read by: Allyson Johnson

Tomb of the Queen

Joss Walker presents Book 1 in the Jayne Thorne, CIA Librarian series. Contains mature themes.

Note: Writing under the pen name, Joss Walker, New York Times bestselling thriller author J.T. Ellison delivers a powerful debut paranormal fantasy. Cowritten with USA Today bestselling fantasy author Alisha Klapheke, the Jayne Thorne, CIA Librarian series is perfect for fans of A Discovery of Witches. – Kim Budnick

Publishing Date: 12/31/2021

Written by: Joss Walker

Read by: Erin Moon

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s