Tag Archives: Favorites

Picks of the Week-July 27

Summer is in full swing, which means we will be spending more time outside and will need something new to listen to of course! We understand that at times it could be a challenge narrowing down your next listen, but don’t worry. Our acquirers have selected some of their top picks for you.

Home Grown: Adventures in Parenting off the Beaten Path, Unschooling, and Reconnecting with the Natural World

Home Grown is the charming adventures of one family’s mission to build a deeper, lasting connection to land and community on their Vermont farm.

Note: With uncertain school openings in the fall and a growing need for parents to take a primary role in the education of their children, Ben Hewitt’s Home Grown offers his experiences in-home “unschooling”. More than just a parenting guide, this book is a reflection on the strength of family values and a life prioritized in the natural world and it is a perfect fit for any parent who seeks a stronger connection to both. -Nick Pouliot

Publishing date: 7/28/2020

Written by Ben Hewitt

Narrated by Chris Sorensen

Once Upon an Eid

Once Upon an Eid is a joyous short story collection by and about Muslims, edited by New York Times bestselling author Aisha Saeed and Morris finalist S. K. Ali.

Note: A collection of short stories geared toward children, written by some of today’s most remarkable Muslim voices. A perfect listen to explore the joyful celebration of Eid and Islamic culture. -Kara Boucher

Publishing date: 7/28/2020

Written by Edited by S.K. Ali and Aisha Saeed

Narrated by Siiri Scott and Neil Shah

Spies: The Secret Showdown Between America and Russia

Spies: The Secret Showdown Between America and Russia is a thrilling account of the Cold War spies and spycraft that changed the course of history.

Note: This nonfiction read will have young readers engrossed in learning about the Cold War history. The action-packed stories about spies and spycraft will have them entertained until the very end. This is the perfect history read for fans of Bomb. -Jannah McCowan

Edited by Marc Favreau

Narrated by Curt Bonnem

The Boy at the Back of the Class

Told with humor and heart, The Boy at the Back of the Class offers a child’s perspective on the refugee crisis, highlighting the importance of friendship and kindness in a world that doesn’t always make sense.

Note: Onjali’s debut novel tells a heartwarming, empowering, and moving story about Ahmet, a nine-year-old Syrian refugee. After his class finds out about Ahmet’s past, they become determined to help reunite him with his family. The Boy at the Back of the Class is a timely and accessible books for children to learn how to be an ally, and a great addition to your personal library! -Kelly Srubas

Publishing date: 7/28/2020

Written by Onjali Q Rauf

Narrated by Jennifer Jill Araya

Kill Sleep Repeat

From the bestselling author of The Social Affair and HER comes an intense and deadly provocative thriller which follows a woman who, in a fight for survival, realizes her job may cost more than it pays.

Note: Thriller fans will love Britney King’s Kill Sleep Repeat. Charlotte Jones leads a double life—one as a suburban mom and another as a globe-trotting assassin. When the lines between her two lives blur, how long can she keep her taste for murder a secret? -Maddy Collins

Publishing date: 7/28/2020

Written by Britney King

Narrated by Suzanne Elise Freeman and Sean William Doyle

 

Do Morals Matter?: Presidents and Foreign Policy from FDR to Trump

In Do Morals Matter?, Joseph S. Nye, Jr., one of the world’s leading scholars of international relations, provides a concise yet penetrating analysis of the role of ethics in US foreign policy during the American era after 1945.

Note: Esteemed political scientist and foreign policy expert, Joseph S. Nye, Jr., examines the role of ethics in the foreign policy decisions of U.S. presidencies from 1945 to the present. This timely analysis is great for fans of Andrew J. Bacevich and Michael J. Sandel. -Sonia Brand-Fisher

Publishing date: 7/31/2020

Written by Joseph S. Nye, Jr.

Narrated by Robertson Dean

Picks of the Week-July 13

Summer is in full swing, which means we will be spending more time outside and will need something new to listen to of course! We understand that at times it could be a challenge narrowing down your next listen, but don’t worry. Our acquirers have selected some of their top picks for you.

 

Nothing Special VII: Ex Meridian

Police Lieutenants God and Day are under intense pressure from the chief to take back control of Atlanta’s streets. The last thing their task force needs is a pair of trained killers in town with a personal score to settle. Contains mature themes.

Note: A highly anticipated release in the much-adored Nothing Special series, author A.E Via takes on an action-packed thrill ride that will leave you on the edge of your seat! -Kristen Hummel

Publishing date: 7/7/2020

Written by A.E Via

Narrated by Aiden Snow

 

Co-Wrecker

Meghan Quinn presents Book 1 in the Binghamton series. Contains mature themes.

Note: “The first in The Binghamton Series, Co-Wrecker is a story of coworkers to lovers. In this laugh out loud romance set in a small town, Andrew decides he wants to be with Sadie. Sadie, however, isn’t quite sure if she feels the same about Andrew. For fans of Melanie Harlow and Vi Keeland, you surely don’t want to miss this office love affair.” -Jordan Spellman

Publishing date: 7/14/2020

Written by Meghan Quinn

Narrated by Mia Madison and Tor Thom

 

Sex and World Peace

Sex and World Peace unsettles a variety of assumptions in political and security discourse, demonstrating that the security of women is a vital factor in the security of the state and its incidence of conflict and war.

Note: Examining gender violence in a global setting and questioning the legitimacy of protection laws for women, this book is sure to challenge the reader’s understanding of gendered aggression. Supported with glowing reviews from Emma Watson and Gloria Steinem, Sex and World Peace is a must-read for years to come. -Desiree Lynch

Publishing date: 7/14/2020

Written by Valerie M. Hudson, Bonnie Ballif-Spanvill, Mary Caprioli, and Chad F. Emmett

Narrated by Sarah Mollo-Christensen

 

I Come With Knives

S. A. Hunt presents Book 2 in the Malus Domestica series

Note: Looking for something in the vein of Sookie Stackhouse but with more of an edge? S.A. Hunt has you covered with this story of a witch hunter hellbent on revenge, with Eva Kaminsky killing it on narration. -Dan Totten

Publishing date: 7/21/2020

Written by S.A. Hunt

Narrated by Eva Kaminsky

 

Slippery Creatures

KJ Charles presents Book 1 in the Will Darling Adventures. Contains mature themes.

Note: KJ Charles delights with another fast-paced and suspenseful m/m historical romance. Back from the war, Will Darling has inherited his uncle’s bookshop. What seems to be a stroke of luck, quickly turns into peril when a gang of criminals and the War Office demand information from Will.  The handsome and charming, Lord Arthur ‘Kim’ Secretan, offers his aide to Will and a mutual attraction grows. But is Kim who he says, and can he be trusted? Will holds a secret that could endanger thousands of lives, and as danger and emotion escalate, Kim is the only one who Will can turn to for help. Set in the Golden Age just after WWI, this first book in The Will Darling Adventures will captivate new fans and old with action, romance, and intrigue. -Kim Budnick

Publishing date: 7/21/2020

Written by KJ Charles

Narrated by Cornell Collins