Tag Archives: Tantor Favorites

Picks of the Week–August 3

It is the “Dog Days of Summer” what better way to cool off than with a good book. We understand that at times it could be a challenge narrowing down your next listen, but don’t worry. Our acquirers have selected some of their top picks for you.

 

Shadows of Ivory

Bryce O’Connor and TL Greylock present Book 1 in the Godforged Chronicles.

Note: Bryce O’Conner returns with new collaborator T.L. Greylock.  Fans of The Shattered Reigns shouldn’t miss this new series. -Greg Souza

Publishing date: 8/4/2020

Written by Bryce O’Connor, TL Greylock

Narrated by Kate Reading

 

Stories Behind the Images: Lessons from a Life in Adventure Photography

Corey Rich has been one of the most recognized action sports photographers for nearly three decades since he began shooting his climbing partners while living out of his car. In The Stories Behind the Images: Lessons from a Life in Adventure Photography, Corey tells you how he got started and explains how he got some of his best shots.

Note: Corey Rich pulls back the curtain on some of the most iconic outdoor adventure photos ever taken with Stories Behind the Images. This is a memoir of Rich’s experiences working with some of the biggest names in outdoor sports including Beth Rodden, Alex Honnold and Tommy Caldwell of The Dawn Wall  Ascent fame. Stories Behind the Images will appeal to those readers who seek adventure, desire a contrarian career in the outdoors or have ever questioned how they got that picture. -Nick Pouliot

Publishing date: 8/11/2020

Written by Corey Rich

Narrated by Barry Abrams

 

Thief of Souls

A group of monumentally powerful teens must face an ancient, soul-eating foe in this second book of the Star Shards Chronicles.

Note: The thrilling next installment in Neal Shusterman’s The Star Shards series. With The Bringer lurking to prey on their newly inherited power, will The Star Shards best the creature, or succumb and become tools in The Bringer’s quest to conquer the planet? -Ashley Fortier

Publishing date: 8/11/2020

Written by Neal Shusterman

Narrated by Joe Hempel

 

A Roll in the Hay

In a world of expectations, this quirky, enemies-to-lovers lesbian romance is about making your own path. Contains mature themes.

Note: Set in the Scottish countryside, this enemies-to-lovers lesbian romance is all about finding your own way. Tensions rise in town when sharp-tongued veterinarian, Tess, has to tend to the bossy and infuriating local landowner Susannah’s horses. Neither Tess or Susannah can stand the other but these two are forced to work together when conflict and danger knocks on their doors. For fans of Jae and Lee Winter, you don’t want to miss A Roll in the Hay by Lola Keeley. -Jordan Spellman

Publishing date: 8/11/2020

Written by Lola Keeley

Narrated by Ruth Urquhart

 

A Simple Lie

Forced to give up her career as a dentist, and still unemployed a year later, Valentina Knight has finally run out of options. With foreclosure looming she acts in desperation, lying to get a position as an assistant to the county medical examiner. Val’s relieved. She won’t be homeless. But Val didn’t count on the lie trapping her in a dangerous game with a killer.

Note: Unable to work as a dentist any longer and desperate to make ends meet, Valentina Knight lies to secure a job as a medical examiner. What Val believes to be a harmless lie quickly devolves into a game of cat and mouse with a serial killer. Join Val in her journey to uncovering the truth in Mary Bush’s thrilling debut, A Simple Lie. -Desiree Lynch

Publishing date: 8/11/2020

Written by Mary Bush

Narrated by Lauren Ezzo

Picks of the Week- June 22

Summer is in full swing, which means we will be spending more time outside and will need something new to listen to of course! We understand that at times it could be a challenge narrowing down your next listen, but don’t worry. Our acquirers have selected some of their top picks for you.

 

Paris France

In Paris France Stein unites her childhood memories of Paris with her observations about everything from art and war to love and cooking. The result is an unforgettable glimpse into a bygone era, one on the brink of revolutionary change.

Note: In this classic memoir, Gertrude Stein unites her childhood memories of Paris with her observations about everything from art and war to love and cooking. The result is an unforgettable glimpse into a bygone era, one on the brink of revolutionary change. -Molly Miller

Publishing date: 6/23/2020

Written by Gertrude Stein

Narrated by Tanya Eby

The Prepper’s Water Survival Guide

No source is left untapped in this all-encompassing guide to supplying life-saving water after a disaster.

Note: Blogger Daisy Luther of TheOrganicPrepper.com has written the ultimate water survival guide for the everyday person. In this book, Daisy provides step-by-step instructions on how to have constant access to one of the world’s most vital resource, water! This book will teach you many techniques such as how to collect rainwater, treating water from lakes and rivers, and digging your own well for groundwater, preparing anyone for survival if disaster should strike. -Jordan Spellman

Publishing date: 6/23/2020

Written by Daisy Luther

Narrated by Emily Durante

The QB Bad Boy and Me

The funny, steal-your-heart breakout story about a cheerleader, a sexy football player, and the chaos of trying not to fall in love.

Note: From Wattpad sensation, Tay Marley comes a funny romance about a reluctant cheerleader and sexy football player. Falling for this bad boy QB could cost this cheerleader her dream of going to college for dance…..and possible her heart. This is a MUST read for fans of Abbi Glines and Beth Reekles. -Jannah McCowan

Publishing date: 6/23/2020

Written by Tay Marley

Narrated by Caitlin Kelly

Suspicious Minds: Why We Believe Conspiracy Theories

In Suspicious Minds, Rob Brotherton explores the history and consequences of conspiracism and delves into the research that offers insights into why so many of us are drawn to implausible, unproven and unprovable conspiracy theories.

Note: What makes the human brain prone to conspiracy theories? Rob Brotherton explores the history, psychology, and repercussions of our willingness to believe the unbelievable. Fans of Michael Shermer will enjoy this deep exploration of the realm between plausibility and paranoia. -Sonia Brand-Fisher

Publishing date: 6/30/2020

Written by Rob Brotherton

Narrated by Charles Constant