Tag Archives: Tantor Favorites

Picks of the Week- January 4

Happy New Year! It is the month of resolutions, and we hope one of them is to listen to more audiobooks! We understand that at times it could be a challenge narrowing down your next listen, so we had our acquirers narrow down some of their top picks for you.

The Antiracist: How to Start the Conversation about Race and Take Action

The Antiracist is an explosive indictment on injustice, highlighted by Kondwani Fidel, a rising young literary talent, who offers a glimpse into not only the survival required of one born in a city like Baltimore, but how we can move forward to tackle violent murders, police brutality, and poverty.

Note: Civil rights activist, an accomplished poet, and musician Kondwani Fidel present The Antiracist to readers to take accountability and open the discussion of present-day racism. Fidel, having been witness to racial injustice in marginalized communities, inspires his audience to put aside neutrality and take on the active responsibility of being an antiracist. With positive endorsement and review from Ibram X. Kendi, author of How to Be an Antiracist, Fidel’s book is a must-read to welcome the new year. – Desiree Lynch

Publishing Date: 1/5/2021

Written by: Kondwani Fidel

Read by: JD Jackson

The Intellectual Lives of Children

In The Intellectual Lives of Children, Susan Engel offers listeners a scientifically based approach that will encourage children’s intellectual growth and set them on the path of inquiry, invention, and ideas.

Note: “A groundbreaking look at the science behind how children observe their world, explain new phenomena and solve problems, parents and teachers will be better equipped to guide the next generation to become perceptive and insightful thinkers”- Scott Smith

Publishing Date: 1/5/2021

Written by: Susan Engel

Read by: Randye Kaye

The Boundless Sea: A Human History of the Oceans

From the beginning of history to the present, a sweep of the world’s oceans and seas and how they have shaped the course of civilization.

Note: David Abulafia’s opus oceanic history is a tribute to the spirit of exploration and human determination. The Boundless Sea is the perfect mixture of storytelling and scholarship centering the High Seas as an integral part of global history. It connects pirates and sailors, mapmakers, and merchants to the distant coasts and remote islands of legend and lore.  A true world history and great accomplishment, The Boundless Sea is sure to satisfy your need for academics and adventure. -Nick Pouliot

Publishing Date: 01/05/2021

Written by: David Abulafia

Read by : Nigel Patterson

Adventures on the Wine Route

Full of vivid portraits of French vintners, memorable evocations of the French countryside, and, of course, vibrant descriptions of French wines, this new edition of Adventures on the Wine Route updates a modern classic for our times.

Note: Well-known wine importer and winner of the James Beard Foundation’s Wine Professional of the Year award, Kermit Lynch takes us on an intimate journey through some of the best wine cellars of France. -Kristen Hummel

Publishing Date: 1/5/2021

Written by: Kermit Lynch

Read by: David de Vries

Picks of the Week–August 3

It is the “Dog Days of Summer” what better way to cool off than with a good book. We understand that at times it could be a challenge narrowing down your next listen, but don’t worry. Our acquirers have selected some of their top picks for you.

 

Shadows of Ivory

Bryce O’Connor and TL Greylock present Book 1 in the Godforged Chronicles.

Note: Bryce O’Conner returns with new collaborator T.L. Greylock.  Fans of The Shattered Reigns shouldn’t miss this new series. -Greg Souza

Publishing date: 8/4/2020

Written by Bryce O’Connor, TL Greylock

Narrated by Kate Reading

 

Stories Behind the Images: Lessons from a Life in Adventure Photography

Corey Rich has been one of the most recognized action sports photographers for nearly three decades since he began shooting his climbing partners while living out of his car. In The Stories Behind the Images: Lessons from a Life in Adventure Photography, Corey tells you how he got started and explains how he got some of his best shots.

Note: Corey Rich pulls back the curtain on some of the most iconic outdoor adventure photos ever taken with Stories Behind the Images. This is a memoir of Rich’s experiences working with some of the biggest names in outdoor sports including Beth Rodden, Alex Honnold and Tommy Caldwell of The Dawn Wall  Ascent fame. Stories Behind the Images will appeal to those readers who seek adventure, desire a contrarian career in the outdoors or have ever questioned how they got that picture. -Nick Pouliot

Publishing date: 8/11/2020

Written by Corey Rich

Narrated by Barry Abrams

 

Thief of Souls

A group of monumentally powerful teens must face an ancient, soul-eating foe in this second book of the Star Shards Chronicles.

Note: The thrilling next installment in Neal Shusterman’s The Star Shards series. With The Bringer lurking to prey on their newly inherited power, will The Star Shards best the creature, or succumb and become tools in The Bringer’s quest to conquer the planet? -Ashley Fortier

Publishing date: 8/11/2020

Written by Neal Shusterman

Narrated by Joe Hempel

 

A Roll in the Hay

In a world of expectations, this quirky, enemies-to-lovers lesbian romance is about making your own path. Contains mature themes.

Note: Set in the Scottish countryside, this enemies-to-lovers lesbian romance is all about finding your own way. Tensions rise in town when sharp-tongued veterinarian, Tess, has to tend to the bossy and infuriating local landowner Susannah’s horses. Neither Tess or Susannah can stand the other but these two are forced to work together when conflict and danger knocks on their doors. For fans of Jae and Lee Winter, you don’t want to miss A Roll in the Hay by Lola Keeley. -Jordan Spellman

Publishing date: 8/11/2020

Written by Lola Keeley

Narrated by Ruth Urquhart

 

A Simple Lie

Forced to give up her career as a dentist, and still unemployed a year later, Valentina Knight has finally run out of options. With foreclosure looming she acts in desperation, lying to get a position as an assistant to the county medical examiner. Val’s relieved. She won’t be homeless. But Val didn’t count on the lie trapping her in a dangerous game with a killer.

Note: Unable to work as a dentist any longer and desperate to make ends meet, Valentina Knight lies to secure a job as a medical examiner. What Val believes to be a harmless lie quickly devolves into a game of cat and mouse with a serial killer. Join Val in her journey to uncovering the truth in Mary Bush’s thrilling debut, A Simple Lie. -Desiree Lynch

Publishing date: 8/11/2020

Written by Mary Bush

Narrated by Lauren Ezzo

Picks of the Week- June 22

Summer is in full swing, which means we will be spending more time outside and will need something new to listen to of course! We understand that at times it could be a challenge narrowing down your next listen, but don’t worry. Our acquirers have selected some of their top picks for you.

 

Paris France

In Paris France Stein unites her childhood memories of Paris with her observations about everything from art and war to love and cooking. The result is an unforgettable glimpse into a bygone era, one on the brink of revolutionary change.

Note: In this classic memoir, Gertrude Stein unites her childhood memories of Paris with her observations about everything from art and war to love and cooking. The result is an unforgettable glimpse into a bygone era, one on the brink of revolutionary change. -Molly Miller

Publishing date: 6/23/2020

Written by Gertrude Stein

Narrated by Tanya Eby

The Prepper’s Water Survival Guide

No source is left untapped in this all-encompassing guide to supplying life-saving water after a disaster.

Note: Blogger Daisy Luther of TheOrganicPrepper.com has written the ultimate water survival guide for the everyday person. In this book, Daisy provides step-by-step instructions on how to have constant access to one of the world’s most vital resource, water! This book will teach you many techniques such as how to collect rainwater, treating water from lakes and rivers, and digging your own well for groundwater, preparing anyone for survival if disaster should strike. -Jordan Spellman

Publishing date: 6/23/2020

Written by Daisy Luther

Narrated by Emily Durante

The QB Bad Boy and Me

The funny, steal-your-heart breakout story about a cheerleader, a sexy football player, and the chaos of trying not to fall in love.

Note: From Wattpad sensation, Tay Marley comes a funny romance about a reluctant cheerleader and sexy football player. Falling for this bad boy QB could cost this cheerleader her dream of going to college for dance…..and possible her heart. This is a MUST read for fans of Abbi Glines and Beth Reekles. -Jannah McCowan

Publishing date: 6/23/2020

Written by Tay Marley

Narrated by Caitlin Kelly

Suspicious Minds: Why We Believe Conspiracy Theories

In Suspicious Minds, Rob Brotherton explores the history and consequences of conspiracism and delves into the research that offers insights into why so many of us are drawn to implausible, unproven and unprovable conspiracy theories.

Note: What makes the human brain prone to conspiracy theories? Rob Brotherton explores the history, psychology, and repercussions of our willingness to believe the unbelievable. Fans of Michael Shermer will enjoy this deep exploration of the realm between plausibility and paranoia. -Sonia Brand-Fisher

Publishing date: 6/30/2020

Written by Rob Brotherton

Narrated by Charles Constant