Picks of the Week-July 12

Summer is here! That means plenty of hours sitting pool and beachside, road trips, and of course, audiobooks! We understand that at times it could be a challenge narrowing down your next listen, so we had our acquirers narrow down some of their top picks for you.

Cross of Snow

A major literary biography of America’s best-loved nineteenth-century poet and a much-needed reassessment for the twenty-first century of a writer whose stature and celebrity were unparalleled in his time, whose work helped to explain America’s new world not only to Americans but to Europe and beyond.

Note: A major new work on one of America’s best-known poets. This is the first new biography of Longfellow in fifty years, reassessing the poet for the twenty-first century while revealing new details of his life with never-before-examined letters, diaries, journals, and notes. For fans of Red Comet by Heather Clark and Mozart by Jan Swafford.– Aaron Piccirillo

Publishing Date: 7/27/21

Written by: Nicholas A. Basbanes

Read by: Robert Fass    

The Night She Disappeared 

A must-listen psychological thriller from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Kevin O’Brien.        

Note:  If you liked Gone Girl then you need to listen to Kevin O’Brien’s latest thriller.  Kyle Tait’s narrations is sure to keep you on the edge of your seat as the layers of the onion get pulled away to reveal the truth.– Dan Totten     

Publishing Date:  7/27/2021

Written by:  Kevin O’Brien

Read by:  Kyle Tait

Hell Bent

Cate Corvin presents Book 5 in the Razing Hell series. Contains mature themes.

Note: Melisande is back for the final showdown with Queen Ereshkigal in this Hell shattering finale in the Razing Hell series. At the foot of the Queen of Death’s throne with a pretty collar around her neck, Melisande refuses to remain a caged bird while her men risk certain death to free her. Alexander Cendese and Sarah Puckett deliver an impassioned narration that will push you to the very edge of your seat.– Ashley Fortier

Publishing Date: 7/27/21

Written by: Cate Corvin

Read by: Sarah Puckett, Alexander Cendese

The Secret Recipe for Moving On

When Ellie is dumped by her boyfriend, she’s forced to make new friends (while watching her ex swoon over his new girlfriend) in The Secret Recipe for Moving On, a smart and funny YA debut from Karen Bischer.

Note: The only thing worse for Ellie than being dumped by her boyfriend? Being forced to spend the “life skills” class with them both and put into a group with the school’s misfits! In this fun YA romance, we get to watch Ellie heal from heartbreak & learn more about herself—maybe even fall in love. For fans of Jenny Han & Morgan Matson, you’ll devour this sweet treat! – Kelly Srubas

Publishing Date: 7/27/21

Written by: Karen Bischer

Read by: Amanda Friday

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s